Growing As The Days Pass

Thinking for Yourself

Leave a comment

Over the weekend I had a conversation with my dad about how much I liked iTunes Radio more than Pandora. We are both avid music listeners and debated the differences in the apps. One thing that he brought up about Pandora was that it would shuffle his stations for him where as iTunes Radio only allows you to listen to one station at a time. His argument for Pandora was that he didn’t want to decide what kind of music he wanted to listen to every day. He wanted the app to just play everything he liked.

Technology today is terrifying. We are being taught that we should stop thinking for ourselves and let the apps make decisions for us. Personally I enjoy waking up everyday and thinking “Hmmm, what am I in the mood for today?” I sometimes wonder if we are heading toward a Wall-e world. Our check books are automatically balanced, Facebook customizes ads for each individual user, Pandora shuffles stations and we use Siri to answer questions instead of Googling it ourselves.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love technology like the rest of the world. I have multiple smart devices, I am constantly connected and I too experience anxiety when I leave my phone at home. I just worry about where we are going. Are my children going to be those human blobs pictured in Wall-e? Are we eventually just going to surrender our opinions and let the computer decide?

Leave a comment